Sophie Boullet

Sophie Boullet is a French artist, born in 1965 near Paris. She lives and works in Paris and the South West of France in the Basque Country. For about 20 years, she has painted dynamic and generous works that emphasize the basics: color and composition. Between abstraction and figuration, her approach is dominated by simplicity, spontaneity, and a search for balance and the expression of absolute « joie de vivre ».

Flamboyance
2019
Oil on canvas
81x 100 cm

Orangees
2019
Oil on canvas
80 x 80 cm

Moisson
2019
Oil on canvas
80 x 80 cm

Feu
2019
Oil on canvas
80 x 80 cm

Campana
2019
Oil on canvas
80 x 80 cm

Faste
2012
Oil on canvas
100 x 100 cm

Gerbe
2019
Oil on canvas
100 x 100 cm

Eclat 1
2004
Oil on canvas
80 x 80 cm

Estendido
2019
Oil on canvas
80 x 80 cm

Suspension
2019
Oil on canvas
100 x 100 cm

Fusion
2019
Oil on canvas
100 x 100 cm

Brassee
2019
Oil on canvas
100 x 100 cm

Fraicheur
2019
Oil on canvas
100 x 100 cm

Illunabarra
2019
Oil on canvas
81 x 100 cm

Eclat 2
2014
Oil on canvas
50 x 50 cm

Douceur
2019
Oil on canvas
146 x 114 cm

Futaie
2019
Oil on canvas
162 x 130 cm

Fulgurance
2019
Oil on canvas
162 x 130 cm

Ete
2019
Oil on canvas
130 x 162 cm

Serenite
2019
Oil on canvas
130 x 195 cm

Sophie Boullet

Sophie Boullet was born in the Paris region in 1965. She lives and works in Paris and the Basque Country. After studying at the Ecole du Louvre, she studied painting and portraiture in the workshops of Valérie Tertrais (1995-1998) and Jean Arcelin (2000-2004), then she worked under the guidance of the painter François Legrand (School of Etampes) in his Madrid studio (2005). For more than twenty years, she has been painting dynamic and generous works that emphasize the essential: color and composition. Between abstraction and figuration, her approach is dominated by simplicity, spontaneity, a search for balance and the expression of a joie de vivre.
At first attracted by the great portraitists (Frans Hals, Velasquez, Titian, Manet or Van Dongen admired for the power of his graphics and colors), Sophie Boullet also admits a fascination for the treatment of the Nabis (Maurice Denis, Paul Serusier and Edouard Vuillard). She likes to quote the slogan launched in 1890 by Maurice Denis, then twenty years old: “Remember that a picture, before being a battle horse, a naked woman, or some anecdote, is essentially a flat surface covered with colors assembled in a certain order. In the line of Nicolas de Staël, she displays a desire to paint expressive paintings from simple subjects that do not oppose figuration to abstraction but where the one and the other, used in concomitant variations, reveal the force of the subject. In her work she finds energy and treatment that bring her closer to contemporary artists Per Kirkeby (Danish) and Peter Doig (English).

Sophie Boullet creates her landscape painting by working from her own photographs gleaned randomly from her walks in nature. They serve as a reminder of sensations, they help recover an atmosphere or a feeling that triggers the gesture, an energetic stroke, fast, instinctive. Her first jet makes up the painting in solid colors. It seeks the balance of forms and dynamism of the whole. When the painting (always in oil) begins to dry, the real pleasure begins. She works with a knife with sensuality and softness. Her relation to painting is carnal. The artist admits “an enjoyment to scratch and to rework the matter”. This sensuality of the gesture on the canvas, combined with a vibrant sense of color, gives her works an energy and an almost palpable joie de vivre.

Sophie Boullet

Sophie Boullet pose un regard à la fois intimiste et passionné sur la nature et les paysages. Puissance, vibrance, luminosité sont les caractéristiques essentielles de son art.

Pleine lune
2015
Huile sur toile
130 x 195 cm

Chahut
2012
Huile sur toile
100x100 cm

Sud
2015
Huile sur toile
150 x 150 cm

Attirance
2014
Huile sur toile
97 x 130 cm

Illusion
2010
Huile sur toile
120x120 cm

Fusion
2012
Huile sur toile
114x162 cm

Jaillissement
2012
Huile sur toile
140x140 cm

Bocage
2009
Huile sur toile
100x100 cm

Lueur
2009
Huile sur toile
130x97 cm

Sophie Boullet

Sophie Boullet est née dans la région parisienne en 1965. Elle vit et travaille à Paris et dans le Pays Basque. Après des études à l’Ecole du Louvre, elle se forme à la peinture et au dessin de portrait  dans les ateliers de Valérie Tertrais (1995-1998) et Jean Arcelin (2000-2004), puis elle travaille sous les conseils du peintre François Legrand (Ecole d’Etampes) dans son atelier madrilène (2005). Elle peint depuis une vingtaine d’années des œuvres dynamiques et généreuses qui privilégient l’essentiel: la couleur et la composition. Entre abstraction et figuration, son approche est dominée par la simplicité, la spontanéité, la recherche de l’équilibre et l’expression d’une joie de vivre.

 

D’abord attirée par les grands portraitistes (Frans Hals, Velasquez, Titien, Manet ou Van Dongen dont elle admire la puissance du trait et des couleurs), l’artiste avoue également une fascination pour le traitement des formes des Nabis (Maurice Denis, Paul Serusier et Edouard Vuillard). Elle aime à citer le mot d’ordre lancé en 1890  par Maurice Denis, alors âgé de vingt ans : « Se rappeler qu’un tableau, avant d’être un cheval de bataille, une femme nue, ou une quelconque anecdote, est essentiellement une surface plane recouverte de couleurs en un certain ordre assemblées. » Dans la lignée de Nicolas de Staël, elle affiche une volonté de peindre des tableaux expressifs à partir de sujets simples qui n’opposent pas la figuration à l’abstraction mais où l’une et l’autre, utilisées en variations concomitantes, révèlent la force du sujet. On trouve dans son œuvre une énergie et un traitement qui la rapprochent également des artistes contemporains Per Kirkeby (danois) et Peter Doig (anglais).

 

Pour réaliser ses tableaux de paysages, Sophie Boullet travaille à partir de ses propres photographies glanées au hasard de ses promenades dans la nature. Elles lui servent de rappel de sensations à partir desquelles elle retrouve une atmosphère ou un sentiment qui déclenche le geste, un coup de pinceau énergique, rapide, instinctif. Son premier jet compose le tableau en aplats de couleurs. Elle recherche l’équilibre des formes et le dynamisme de l’ensemble. Lorsque la peinture (toujours à l’huile) commence à sécher, le vrai plaisir commence. Elle travaille au couteau avec sensualité et douceur. Son rapport à la peinture est charnel. L’artiste avoue « une jouissance à gratter et à retravailler la matière ». Cette sensualité du geste sur la toile, doublée d’un sens vibrant de la couleur confère à ses œuvres une énergie et une joie de vivre presque palpable.