Sergio Camporeale

Between reality and fantasy, resolutely rooted in South American literary and artistic mythology, the works by Sergio Camporeale forge the memory of their own history. Inhabited by ironic characters with grotesque smiles and missing eyes, they tell the masquerade, the excess and the dark irony of an era marked by dictatorship and delusions of grandeur. Those derisive works also appeal to our own fears, anxieties and a certain exuberance which is close to the one we experiment in today’s world. In this, they reach the archeological fiber of our everyday life and they touch our most timeless emotions.

Sergio Camporeale
NĂ© en 1937

El conquistador 1
1991
Watercolor drawing
80 x 120 cm

La presentacion
1992
Watercolor drawing
80 x 120 cm

La sagrada familia 2
1991
Watercolor drawing
80 x 120 cm

La sacrada familia 2
1991
Watercolor drawing
80 x 120 cm

La prediccion
1991
Watercolor drawing
80 x 120 cm

Sergio Camporeale

Sergio Camporeale was born in Buenos Aires in 1937. He graduated from the National School of Fine Arts Prilidiano Pueyrredon in Buenos Aires in 1961. He entered the art world through advertising, where he developed his rigorous draughtsmanship. In 1976 he moved to Paris with his companion and fellow artist Delia Cugat. They lived in Paris over 20 years. The couple moved back to Buenos Aires in 2000.

The works made in France by Sergio Camporeale, mainly watercolor on blank paper backgrounds were widely exhibited in Europe. In 1998, had a major solo exhibition at the National Museum of Fine Arts of Buenos Aires and the Museum of Contemporary Art of Panama.

His works can be found in museum collections in Argentina, Colombia, Venezuela, Uruguay, Mexico, Peru, France, the United States and numerous private collections in Europe, the United States and America.

Sergio Camporeale

À la frontière du réel et du fantastique, et en cela, résolument ancrées dans la mythologie littéraire et artistique sud-américaine, les œuvres de Sergio Camporeale tissent la mémoire de leur propre histoire. Peuplées de figures grinçantes aux sourires grotesques et aux regards absents, elles disent les mascarades, les excès et les ironies d’une époque marquée par la dictature et les rêves de grandeur. Ces œuvres de dérision nous parlent aussi de nos propres peurs, de nos angoisses et d’une exubérance qui n’est pas étrangère au monde actuel. En cela, elles touchent la fibre archéologique de notre quotidien et font vibrer nos émotions les plus intemporelles.

El conquistador 1
1991
Aquarelle
80 x 120 cm

La presentacion
1992
Aquarelle
80 x 120 cm

La sagrada familia 2
1991
Aquarelle
80 x 120 cm

La sacrada familia 2
1991
Aquarelle
80 x 120 cm

La prediccion
1991
Aquarelle
80 x 120 cm

Familia en la catedral
1991
Aquarelle
60 x 80 cm

Sergio Camporeale

Sergio Camporeale est né à Buenos Aires en Argentine en 1937. Il obtient son diplôme de l’Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts de Buenos Aires en 1961. Il a débuté sa carrière en tant que publicitaire. Ce métier lui a permis de développer une pratique rigoureuse du dessin. En 1976, il s’installe à Paris avec sa compagne, l’artiste Delia Cujat. Ils y resteront plus de vingt ans. Le couple est retourné vivre à Buenos Aires dans les années 2000.

Dès son arrivée en France, le travail, principalement aquarellé, de Sergio Camporeale est largement exposé en Europe. En 1998, une exposition lui est consacrée au Musée National des Beaux-Arts de Buenos Aires et au Musée d’Art contemporain de Panama.

On retrouve ses œuvres dans les collections des musées en Argentine, Colombie, Venezuela, Uruguay, Mexique, Pérou, France, aux États-Unis et dans de nombreuses collections privées en Europe, États-Unis et Amérique.