Raoul Dufy

 

Raoul Dufy is a French artist (1877 – 1953). His work is exhibited in major museums around the world. In 1911, the most famous designer of his time, Paul Poiret created in partnership with Dufy the Little Factory workshop meant to produce printed fabrics designed by the artist. From 1912 to 1930, Dufy also designed silk textiles for the well-known Lyon company Bianchini-Férier.

For information on the artwork's availibility, please send us a request by clicking on "Info".

Raoul Dufy

To paint is to bring forth an image which is not that of the natural appearance of things, but which has the force of reality. Raoul Dufy
Raoul Dufy is a French artist born on June 3, 1877 in Le Havre and died in Forcalquier, Provence on March 23, 1953.

In 1900, he obtained a scholarship and entered the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris. He also attended the workshop of Leon Bonnat where he joined his friend Othon Friesz. The two shared a studio in Montmartre. In 1903, he exhibited at the Salon des Indépendants. In 1905, he discovered the painting of Matisse which exerted a strong influence on him. He joined the movement of Fauvism, painted with bright and pure colors that transcribe the emotions. He tried Cézanne’s cubism during his stay in Provence with Georges Braque, then developed his own pictorial language based on the dissociation of color and drawing. From 1920, Dufy structured his canvases with large flat areas of bright colors on which he added the drawing.

Raoul Dufy has had a considerable and multiple production of paintings, drawings, engravings, creation of fabrics for the famous couturier Paul Poiret, sets for Cocteau, public commissions and exhibitions throughout the world. His most famous monumental work is La fée électricité, a 624m2 painting which was for a long time the largest painting in the world and which is still exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art of the City of Paris.

A year before his death, he won the painting prize of the 26th Venice Biennale, which crowns the whole of his work. The gaiety expressed in his works earned him the nickname “Painter of Joy”.

Raoul Dufy

Raoul Dufy est un artiste français, né en 1877 et décédé en 1953. Son œuvre est exposée dans les plus grands musées du monde. En 1911, le plus célèbre couturier de son époque, Paul Poiret, remarque son œuvre. Ensemble, ils créeront « La Petite Usine », atelier de fabrication de tissus imprimés dessinés par l’artiste et qui contribueront à la renommée du couturier. De 1912 à 1930, Dufy dessinera des tissus pour la grande maison de soieries de Lyon Bianchini-Férier.

POUR TOUT RENSEIGNEMENT SUR LES ŒUVRES DISPONIBLES, CLIQUEZ SUE « DEMANDE D’INFOS ».

Raoul Dufy

« Peindre, c’est faire apparaître une image qui n’est pas celle de l’apparence naturelle des choses, mais qui a la force de la réalité. » Raoul Dufy

Raoul Dufy est un artiste français né le 3 juin 1877 au Havre et décédé à Forcalquier, Provence le 23 mars 1953.

En 1900, il obtient une bourse et entre à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Paris. Il fréquente aussi l’atelier de Léon Bonnat où il retrouve son ami Othon Friesz avec qui il partagera un atelier à Montmartre. En 1903, il expose au Salon des Indépendants. En 1905, il découvre la peinture de Matisse qui exercera une forte influence sur lui. Il rejoint le mouvement du Fauvisme, peint avec des couleurs vives et pures qui transcrivent les émotions. Il s’essaie au cubisme de Cézanne au cours de séjours en Provence avec Georges Braque, puis il développe son propre langage pictural fondé sur la dissociation de la couleur et du dessin. À partir de 1920, Dufy structure ses toiles avec de larges aplats de couleurs vives sur lesquels il ajoute le dessin.

Grand coloriste, Raoul Dufy a eu une production considérable et multiple de tableaux, dessins, gravures, création de tissus pour le célèbre couturier Paul Poiret, décors pour Cocteau, commandes publiques et expositions à travers le monde. Son œuvre monumentale la plus connue est La fée électricité, une peinture de 624m2 qui fut très longtemps la plus grande peinture au monde et qui est toujours exposée au Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris.

Un an avant sa mort, il remporte le prix de peinture de la 26e Biennale de Venise qui couronne l’ensemble de son œuvre. La gaieté exprimée dans ses œuvres lui ont valu le surnom de « peintre de la joie ».