Francis Giacobetti

Born in 1939, Francis Giacobetti is internationally recognized as one of the greatest contemporary photographers, recipient of prestigious photography and art direction rewards. Aesthetic sensitivity and visual refinement characterize fifty years of a productive career. Giacobetti’s photographs are shown in the greatest museums of the world. A master of light and a major artistic director, his images are highly appealing as well as intriguing by their exceptional composition.

See the exhibition catalog ZEBRAS.

Zebra 14
2000
Photograph, print 2010
Baryum paper mounted on aluminium
80 x 75 cm
Edition/10

Zebra 0
1988
Photograph, print 2011
Baryum paper mounted on aluminium
80 x 95 cm
Edition/10

Arlequin
Print 2013
Photograph Fugiflex super brillant.
Diasec / Dibon finish
80 x 80 cm

L'envol
Print 2013
Photograph Fugiflex super brillant.
Diasec / Dibon finish
80 x 120 cm

Zebra 3
2000, print 2010
Photograph on baryum paper mounted on aluminium
80 x 103 cm
Edition/10

Zebra 07
1988, print 2011
Photograph on baryum paper mounted on aluminium
80 x 80 cm
Edition/7

Zebra 10
1988, print 2011
Photograph on baryum paper mounted on aluminium
60 x 59 cm
Edition/7

Francis Giacobetti

Francis Giacobetti was born in Marseille in 1939.

He began his career as a photographer in 1957 at Paris Match. In 1964 Giacobetti was asked by Daniel Filipacchi to create a men’s magazine, Lui which became a huge international success (14 editions of Lui were created in 14 different countries). Giacobetti collaborated with the most famous American, German and British magazines (LIFE, Look, Vogue, Twen, Nova, etc). Later, Giacobetti was chosen to be the photographer for the famous Pirelli calendar for two consecutive years. Giacobetti’s work on nudes, fashion and advertising has brought him international renown. He has worked on famous advertising campaigns. Notably, he was responsible for Issey Miyake’s PLEATS PLEASE campaign for 3 years, and was in charge of WOLFORD’s (Austrian lingerie company) complete redesign. He is the current Art Director for IPSA, a product line of the Japanese company Shiseido. And, he was chosen by Canon to design seven cameras for the third millennium. Francis Giacobetti received the highest Art Director Clubs awards from New York, Francfort, London, Sidney and Tokyo.

As a personal project, Giacobetti has spent ten years photographing the most important personalities of our time, from Gabriel Garcìa Márquez, to Francis Bacon, to the Dalai Lama, for the grand project he calls HYMN, an homage to the genius of the century. This work has been exhibited internationally at such prestigious locations as the Grand Palais in Paris, Musée de l’Elysée (Lausanne), Centro de la Imagen (Mexico City), Salla Canal Isabel II (Madrid), Gruner und Jahr Presshaus (Hamburg) and Visa Pour l’Image (Perpignan, France).

In 2003, the exhibition Francis Bacon by Francis Giacobetti was shown at the Marlborough Gallery in London followed by an exhibition at the University Of East Anglia, Norwich. In 2009, this exhibition was presented again at the Kings Place Gallery, London. This series of 70 photo portraits was the result of an intensive collaborations between the two artists just before Francis Baacon’s death in October 1992.

In 2012, his work “Zebras”, a series of nude photographs from 1988 to 2012 was exhibited at Galerie Matignon Jany Jansem in Paris.

Francis Giacobetti’s photographs can be found in the collections of many museums: Musée du Louvre in Paris, Tate Gallery in Londres, Midtown Museum in Tokyo.

Francis Giacobetti

Né en 1939, Francis Giacobetti est internationalement reconnu comme l’un des grands photographes contemporains. Sensibilité esthétique et raffinement visuel ont marqué une carrière riche et productive depuis plus de 50 ans. Ses images sont présentes dans les collections de plusieurs musées (Louvre à Paris, Tate Gallery à Londres, Midtown Museum à Tokyo. Maître de la lumière et directeur artistique acclamé, Francis Giacobetti réalise des photographies qui séduisent autant qu’elles intriguent par leur exceptionnelle composition. Consulter le catalogue de l’exposition ZEBRAS.

Zebra 14
2000
Photographie, tirage 2010
Papier baryté, montée sur aluminium
80 x 75 cm
Edition/10

Zebra 0
1988
Photographie, tirage 2011
Papier baryté, montée sur aluminium
80 x 95 cm
Edition/10

Arlequin – Série Issey Miyake
Tirage 2013
Photographie Fugiflex super brillant.
Finition Diasec / Dibon
Boîte américaine noire
80 x 80 cm

L'envol - Série Issey Miyake
Tirage 2013
Photographie Fugiflex super brillant.
Finition Diasec / Dibon
Boîte américaine noire
80 x 120 cm

Zebra 3
2000
Photographie, tirage 2010
Papier baryté, montée sur aluminium
80 x 103 cm
Edition/10

Zebra 07
1988
Photographie, tirage 2011
Papier baryté, montée sur aluminium
80 x 80 cm
Edition/7

Zebra 10
1988
Photographie, tirage 2011
Papier baryté, montée sur aluminium
60 x 59 cm
Edition/7

Francis Giacobetti

Francis Giacobetti est né le 1er juillet 1939 à Marseille.

Il a démarré sa carrière en tant que photographe au magazine Paris Match. En 1964, Daniel Filipacchi, lui propose de participer au lancement d’un nouveau magazine pour hommes, LUI qui aura un succès phénoménal en France. 14 éditions internationales seront ensuite publiées dans autant de pays, avec le même succès. Il a par la suite collaboré avec les plus importants magazines américains, allemands, anglais (LIFE, Look, Twen, Nova, etc). Il a été le créateur du légendaire calendrier Pirelli 1970 & 1971. Son travail photographique de nus, mode et publicité a contribué à sa renommée internationale. Il a travaillé sur des campagnes célèbres. Entre autres, il a réalisé la campagne publicitaire de PLEATS PLEASE d’Issey Miyake pendant 3 ans. Depuis 20 ans, il assure la direction artistique de IPSA, la ligne cosmétique de luxe de Shiseido. Et il a été choisi par Canon pour le design de sept appareils photos pour le nouveau millénum. Francis Giacobetti a reçu les plus hautes récompenses des Art Director Clubs de New York, Francfort, Londres, Sidney et Tokyo.

Francis Giacobetti a réalisé un projet personnel appelé Hymn sur plus de 10 ans, en voyageant autour du monde en quête d’un graal très singulier, renconter et capturer les visages et les iris des plus grandes figures et esprits de notre temps. Ce projet photographique a été exposé au Grand Palais (Paris), au Musée de l’Elysée (Lausanne), au Centro de la Imagen (Mexico), à la Canal Isabel II (Madrid), au Gruner und Jahr Presshaus (Hambourg) et à Visa Pour l’Image (Perpignan, France).

En 2003, l’exposition Francis Bacon by Francis Giacobetti s’est tenue à Londres, à la Marlborough Gallery, Albemarle Street, suivie d’une exposition à l’University Of East Anglia, Norwich. En 2009, Francis Bacon by Francis Giacobetti a été exposé à la Kings Place Gallery, Londres. Cette œuvre composée de plus de 70 portraits, est le résultat d’une intense collaboration entre les deux artistes, juste avant la disparition de Francis Bacon, en octobre 1992.

En 2012, la Galerie Matignon Jany Jansem a présenté l’exposition « Zebras » à Paris, une série de photographies de nus zébrés d’ombres réalisées entre 1988 to 2002.

Les photographies de Francis Giacobetti sont présentes dans les collections de plusieurs grands musées: Musée du Louvre à Paris, Tate Gallery à Londres, Midtown Museum à Tokyo.